Blue Pants & Why They Still Matter

A woman in love will buy blue pants. CaptureLet me explain. A few years ago I was in love. A love that I didn’t even know I was in, but anyone else could have seen it on my face. It was apparent. Every move I started to make displayed this love. I was caught up in this whirlwind of being known, being accepted, taken care of and enjoying some of the best days and day trips I’ll ever remember. One thing I know for sure looking back, it wasn’t as important that I was in love but more so that I felt loved. That’s what brought me to the blue pants. This gentlemen adored me enough to attend all facets of life with me. This particular day I was to NY&C to use some coupons. And I saw these blue pants. They were kind of new to the scene back then. Colored pants were just becoming a thing. I picked them up, put them down, thought about it, walked away, walked back. He told me I should try them, and when I did I loved them! I was still hesitant on trying to fit into a trend and He said simply, “Get them and when you put them on, you can say to yourself -Hey! It’s blue pants day today!-” symbolizing the fun of it all and making it an overall celebration. I would have never bought these pants if I wasn’t in love. I would have never chosen to take the risk. I would have never celebrated myself in such a fun and simplistic way. I would not have been able to get past what others might think, my own negative self talk, and the little bit of hidden shame we somewhat feel, trying to fit in. But he didn’t care, he knew I liked them, he wanted me happy, and he thought I was beautiful regardless.

Now if you know me, you’re going to assume I am bringing this story back to Jesus. And you bet I am. I sit here this morning wondering how many sweet words my Lord must of spoke over me to get me to trust Him and buying in on this whole adventure of a die to self life. When you speak to Christians often they’ll quote, “I never thought this would be me, but here I am and the Lord is so faithful.” Almost chuckling at the fact that they are seen as “good people” if you will, knowing all the human-ness they had and have inside them. I am captured by the idea today of living from a place of love. How beautiful it is when a woman knows, believes, and truly understands she is cherished, beloved and whole. How much more lovely would the world be? How much more color would there be in the world if we lived from a place of love. Not shame, not fear, not loneliness, quit the pity parties and joined in on His grand plan of loving the world as ourselves. If we only understood scriptures like Ephesians 5:27 are about us. That this, this is how he sees us, His bride, His partner. “That he might present it to himself a glorious church, not having spot, or wrinkle, or any such thing; but that it should be holy and without blemish.” And that when we live from that place, make choices from it, celebrate within it, plan our lives around it, consult him through every choice we can answer calls like Matthew 4:19, “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will send you out to fish for people.” When he takes the little you know and positions it into a grander plans and says “follow me and you can wear the blue pants and bring many to My Kingdom, because I love you and I hold you and you are mine” 1 John 4:19, “We love because he first loved us.”

Leave a Reply

